Rhian Thomas

Musical Director

Rhian took over the Musical Director role in October 2019.  She was born in Bridgend and is a graduate of the Welsh Collage of Music and Drama, where she won the coveted John Ireland Piano Prize.

Rhian is Head of Music at Pencoed Comprehensive School, having previously been Head of Music at Maesteg Comprehensive.

Rhian is very much at home conducting Male Voice Choirs, children's choirs, mixed choirs and massed choirs.  She is also an accomplished accompanist and is in great demand with opera singers and choirs alike.

The choir feel that we are very lucky to have a musician of such great calibre.

Music Team


Stephan Ulberini

Deputy Musical Director

Stephan studied at Trinity Laban Conservatoire of Music and Dance, gaining his degree in Music and then trained at The Royal Academy of Music London, graduating with a Masters Degree in Opera, under the tutelage of Ryland Davies.

After graduating, he went on to sing in many of the UK's top opera houses and then across the world.  Stephan now teaches music and drama at Olchfa Comprehensive School.

Stephan has said he is delighted to be appointed Deputy Musical Director to the Kenfig Hill & District Male Voice Choir, and is looking forward to supporting Rhian in helping the choir continue going from strength to strength.

Accompianist-Alex-Jenkins (1).jpg

Alex Jenkins


Hailing from Maesteg, Alex studied at the University of Nottingham in September 2011.  In July 2010 he graduated with a BA(Hons) in music - also from the University of Nottingham - achieving a 2:1

As part of his MA programme, he performed an hour-long solo recital, playing pieces of FRSM standard.  Alex also trained with Simon Lepper at The Royal College of Music.

He is a professional staff accompanist at the Royal Welsh College of Music and Drama and works with singners and instrumentalist for auditions and master-classes all over the UK.

Sheet Music

Our Choir


Where the Passion Begins


Paul Burnell

Chairman / Patron Secretary


Tony Ulberini



Steve Reece



Terry Thomas

Vice Chairman


David Wanklyn

Minute Secretary


Duncan Matthews

Committee Member


Paul Pritchard

Committee Member


Gwyn Hodges

Committee Member


Dennis Keogh

Committee Member